China Social Insurance: Which countries have exemptions for its citizens?

China Social Security Card

China has signed social insurance agreements with a number of countries to prevent double social security taxation and to coordinate social security coverage for people who work or have worked in both China and other countries.

Photo Source: NowShenzhen

As of September 2021, China has signed social insurance agreements with the following countries:

  1. Germany
  2. South Korea
  3. Denmark
  4. Finland
  5. Canada
  6. Switzerland
  7. Luxembourg
  8. the Netherlands
  9. Spain
  10. Japan
  11. Serbia

These agreements generally provide exemptions for foreign workers from contributing to China’s social security system for a limited period of time, typically up to five years, if they are already contributing to a social security system in their home country.

However, the specific details and requirements of each agreement may vary, so it’s important to consult with a qualified legal or tax professional for guidance.